In All Honesty: Is Self-Teaching THAT Hard?

Gear reviews, general discussion and anything to do with kiteboarding, the best sport in the world!

Moderator: sq225917

In All Honesty: Is Self-Teaching THAT Hard?

Postby IvyDoc83 » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:32 pm

Hello Kiters,

I just got my kiteboarding setup and am stoked to use it this summer but I really don't want to spend another grand on lessons. I really don't see why I can't self teach after taking 2-3 hours of lessons.

About myself: 25 years old, medical student so I consider myself to be pretty smart, advanced level wakeboarder (flips etc), have watched multiple instructional videos (full length, not YouTube clips), and have read all the manuals.

As mentioned above, I'm a student so I'm on a budget... Is it that far fetched to start off with an instructor doing an hour of kite flying, an hour of water launches and dragging, and an hour of boarding before I am on my way? I am flying a 13m Bularoo which is notoriously smooth and easy to handle. I know kiteboarding is more about kite skills than board skills but I've flown some pretty big trick kites at the beach growing up and caught onto that super fast.

Please give it to me straight, maybe with some of your experiences. I feel like most of the people online posting about the value of lessons are the people selling them. Thank you so much for your time in response!! :-)
IvyDoc83
Rare Poster

Postby Ike97756 » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:44 pm